A TSP Prayer to St. Joseph on His Feast Day

Today is Jesus’ foster father’s feast day. St Joseph, patron to fathers, expecting mothers, and workers, among others, has powerful intercession. He is an outstanding role model to men and someone I find a particular devotion to especially since becoming a father myself.

I thought I’d share my prayer to St Joseph for anyone at a loss of words today.

stjoseph

Saint Joseph, spouse and protector of the Virgin Mother, foster father and protector of Jesus Christ, we come to you today to celebrate your eternal life and powerful intercession for everyone in the universal Church, especially fathers. We ask that you please watch over my family and protect us as you did your family. Please intercede for us so that we may become a better Christian family.

You were a worker, please pray for our discipline in work. You were a model father that put aside comforts and laid down your life so that your family would stay physically and spiritually safe, pray for my selfless fatherhood. You were obedient to God even when it wasn’t easy, please pray for our holiness in every action we take and every thought we entertain. You were a man of patience and reflection that listened to God before any impulsive action, pray that, as a father and husband, I am quicker to listen than to speak and that I am able to wade through the noisiness of everyday life to focus on what’s truly important to my family’s spiritual wellbeing. Amen.

There is also a popular intercessory prayer to St Joseph. Legend has it is 1,900 years old (not verifiable) and was embraced by Pope Julius II in 1505.

Oh, St. Joseph, whose protection is so great, so strong, so prompt before the throne of God. I place in you all my interests and desires. Oh, St. Joseph, do assist me by your powerful intercession, and obtain for me from your divine Son all spiritual blessings, through Jesus Christ, our Lord. So that, having engaged here below your heavenly power, I may offer my thanksgiving and homage to the most loving of Fathers. Oh, St. Joseph, I never weary of contemplating you, and Jesus asleep in your arms; I dare not approach while He reposes near your heart. Press Him in my name and kiss His fine head for me and ask him to return the Kiss when I draw my dying breath. St. Joseph, Patron of departing souls. Amen

The man that made gentleness manly
The man that made gentleness manly

I ask St Joseph to pray for men and fathers worldwide today, that they are given the grace to take up their crosses and embrace whatever vocations they are called to.

Leave a Reply

