Qdoba Employee: Despair Need Not Apply

‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

-Matthew 25:40

Ridge Quarles is like the Michael Jordan of the burrito world. No, not because he doesn’t rip the tortilla when trying to wrap my double portion of meat, it’s because of what someone (Dr. David Jones) caught on camera while he was working.

A customer with a disability ordered a burrito and needed help enjoying her meal. Like the badass that Ridge is, he went toe-to-toe with despair. Despite being submerged in our culture that seeks to desensitize us to the pain and needs of people around us, his heart has not been hardened, he is a man capable of tangible love of neighbor. Like a true gentleman, he didn’t wait for someone else to step up to the plate, he took action himself: “if I wasn’t going to do it, no one was”, he said.
Read the full story here.

“[I] helped her through line and sat her out in the lobby, got her a drink, got her utensils and a napkin and kind of started to walk off. And I was like, you know, ‘Is there anything else I can help you with?’ And she turned around and she was like, ‘Sir, if you don’t mind, could you help me eat?’”

“He didn’t stop to think about, ‘Well, should I help her? Should I not?’ He just went over, put the gloves on and started feeding her,” Dr. Jones said.

I’m going to stop writing now because I got some dust in my eye that I have to get out. . .

If today you hear His voice, harden not your heart…

-St. John Paul II

Leave a Reply

